White Supremacy

I feel after this week and my presentation, I have definitely added to my identity and Miskasowin. My group focused on white supremacy and the effect it has on everyone of all races. The airport walkway did a really good job of putting things into perspective for me. I never thought of it this way. I was always the one to say, well I don’t make racist comments, and I welcome all races in all that I do. But it goes so much further and deeper than this. The example of the walkway states that even if your standing still and not going towards racism, you’re still not pushing against white supremacy. Which is so so true! I’m standing still on that walkway and slowly still moving forward. I need to push back against the norm and push against the forces of white supremacy. I need to stand up for what I believe. I need to be aware of my privileges as a white settler. I need to understand that it isn’t hard for me to find band-aids and foundation that match my skin colour. I need to be aware that people every day struggle to find that perfect match. I need to not take the little things for granted, and be appreciative. I need to make my future students aware of white supremacy. I need to push back on that walkway of white supremacy, and I think that I made a great start of doing so during my presentation on Monday. This is just the beginning for me!

Leave a comment