Let’s Learn Through Lumi

The title of this blog post feels ironic, considering my students will be learning through Lumi with the interactive video I created, but I also found myself learning through the process of exploring Lumi.

The lesson I created through Lumi was Lesson 5 within my Grade 4 Health unit, in which I explained in more detail on my course profile. This lesson focuses on finding calm spots & focuses primarily on yoga, more specifically breathing, movement, and mindset to help us achieve this. This lesson will begin with an audio book (read aloud) title “A Little Calm Spot”. I retrieved this video from YouTube & I turned into an interactive experience using the Lumi platform. I paused the video when I wanted the students to try something on their own (breathing, movements, and positive thinking) or to reflect on their understanding of the book.

Photo of the storybook: A Little Calm Spot

Once my students are done exploring this they will be instructed (through Google Classroom) to listen to a guided meditation & then create an art creation expressing their own calm spot. This can involve ways of using breathing, movement, positive mindset, or all of the above if they choose. This can be something they explore & express on paper with a drawing or words, or something they explore & express in person… possibly as a mini yoga flow.

Prior to this lesson, our class will have focused on what exactly stress is, what might cause stress, and why stress differs from person to person. We will have taken the time to explore a diverse range of stress strategies & will have practiced many of these within the classroom. This lesson lands on the mid-way mark through the unit & provides the students with another stress strategy. This lesson also leads us into exploring our own calm spots & how we can cope with stress in different ways. For this lesson in particular I will assess my students in their responses & their creation of a calm spot (formative). However, here will be lots of ongoing assessments (formative & summative) through out the rest of the unit that shows they understood this lesson & concept.

14 responses to “Let’s Learn Through Lumi”

  1. This is really amazing way to teach a kinesthetic subject through Lumi- it blends the visual, auditory and kinesthetic so well. I am a yoga trainer and I will surely work on creating such modules in future. Thanks Kennedy loreth for this value addition

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment!!

      Like

  2. Hi Kennedy, I really enjoyed your interactive video. I think the great thing about this concept is that it can be used and applied in all different kinds of grades. Providing the ability for movement while using technology is a creative way to bring blended learning into areas where we might not have thought it belonged before. I look forward to seeing the rest of your course!

    Like

    1. Anneliese, thank you for sharing your thoughts on my module!

      Like

  3. katelynnweisbrod Avatar
    katelynnweisbrod

    Thank-you for sharing, Kennedy! What a great idea to incorporate movement into the interactive video along with formative assessment. I think as a whole, this lesson does a really great job exploring breathing, movement, and mindset. I think grade four students will really enjoy!
    Out of curiousity, is there a way that students will be sharing their calm spot drawings with one another? Or is this practice meant to be for individual reflection only?

    Like

    1. Thank you for your thoughts & feedback! I had actually flopped back & forth between wanting them to share this with their peers or not. I ended up deciding that I felt this could be a healing practice & therefore be quite personal for many of the students. As much as I find great importance in sharing thoughts & creations, I felt this one was okay to stay personal.

      Like

  4. Wow! What a great idea! I can see your students really liking this lesson. This is definitely something I can see myself using in my classroom. It provides several options for engagement for different learning styles and the organization of it makes me feel calm and relaxed. A story I often use in my classroom is “I Am Peace: A Book of Mindfulness” by Susan Verde which I feel is pretty popular and I’m sure you’ve heard of it. Another resource you could include is the creation of a calm down jar, this lesson goes well with “The Calm Down Jar” by Jennnifer Jones. Just thought I’d share some more resources! I’m a bit of a resource junkie! Haha This looks great, I look forward to seeing how your course module progresses!

    Like

    1. Ooh awesome! I always love new resources, especially when I have only taught this grade a handful of times & still trying to gather as much as I can. Thank you for taking the time to share!

      Like

  5. Wow, amazing!! I love this. What an amazing way to provide an interactive lesson in many different ways, way to go! Providing students with the opportunity to move, is always needed. Have you used this in the past? Will your students have opportunities to share their calm spaces they have created?

    Like

    1. Thanks Raegyn! After much consideration on the idea of sharing, I decided I wanted my students to keep this a personal creation. They will always be given the chance to share with me & a couple peers if they choose, but I find children tend to create differently if they know it will remain personal. They will also be doing lots of other sharing & connecting through-out this unit!

      Like

  6. I love your blending of technology, movement, literacy, and the arts. This is not a combination we see regularly, but it is such a wonderful pairing that students will love and appreciate. Great interactive video, too. Thanks for sharing, Kennedy!

    Like

  7. Hi Kennedy, your use of Lumi to create an interactive video lesson for your Grade 4 Health unit is impressive! It’s wonderful to see how you are integrating technology to engage your students and promote learning in a creative way.
    The focus on finding calm spots through yoga, breathing, movement, and positive thinking is incredibly valuable, especially considering the stress and challenges students may face. The inclusion of an audio book, “A Little Calm Spot,” and transforming it into an interactive experience through Lumi is an excellent idea to keep your students actively engaged during the lesson.
    It’s evident that you have put careful thought into the lesson structure and how it aligns with your overall unit on stress strategies. Well done!!

    Like

    1. Margarita, thank you so much for your thoughtful & supportive comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment